*

New Music: Ed Sheeran recruits for Beyoncé for "Perfect Duet"

REVOLT TV

 // Dec 1, 2017

Ed Sheeran's new song "Perfect" is currently sitting pretty at No.5 on the Billboard Hot 100, but it's likely that its remix will take it to the top.

The singer announced earlier today that a rework of the romantic ballad was on its way and features none other than Beyoncé.

Got Beyoncé to duet with me on Perfect, comes out today at 7pm ET / 4pm PT / midnight GMT x

A post shared by Ed Sheeran (@teddysphotos) on

Minutes ago, the official duet dropped and on the track, a classic guitar-driven love song, Bey takes over the second verse, slightly altering Sheeran's original lyrics to sing them from a female perspective. And when they're not harmonizing, the queen briefly steals the spotlight to showcase her falsetto and signature growl.

This isn't the first time the two artists have crossed paths: Sheeran's made a habit of acoustically covering the singer's "Drunk In Love" and the two performed the track together at the 2015 Global Citizen Festival (see below); they joined forces, along with Gary Clark Jr., to pay tribute to Stevie Wonder during a 2015 CBS special; and they've even hit a dive bar together for pizza and shots following one of Sheeran's shows at Brooklyn's Barclays Center.

Now the two have made their musical friendship official and it seems fair to note that the last time Beyoncé jumped on a remix, with J Balvin for "Mi Gente," the song jumped 18 spots on the charts. #Justsayin.

Insider Access | Ed Sheeran and Beyoncé at Global Citizen Festival
Ed Sheeran and Beyoncé at Global Citizen Festival (09.27.15)
Video
From the top